Orecchiette with Mixed Greens and Goat Cheese

As I was recovering from minor foot surgery, I watched a lot of daytime television and enjoyed watching the Food Network.  Of course, every time I watched it, I would get hungry, oh well.  Anyhow, I kept thinking after every episode, hmm, that looks good, I’ll have to try that, but that thought went away quickly.  However, one recipe seemed incredibly easy, so I wrote down the ingredients and went to the store.  I had never purchased goat cheese or sun dried tomatoes, so this was a little foreign to me.  After finding all the ingredients, I waited until a night my husband wasn’t home.  I just can’t imagine telling him that we are having Orecchiette pasta with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes for dinner (although, it would be fun to see the look on his face).  Anyhow, the recipe was very simple and absolutely delicious.  When Giada DeLaurentiis made the recipe on television, she mentioned how the hot water from the cooked pasta melted the cheese and made it delicious and fragrant, and she was right!  I hope you try this recipe, it’s absolutely wonderful and easy!

1 cup dried orecchiette pasta (means ‘little ear’ in Italian)
2 cups Mediterranean-style mixed salad greens
2 tbsp. sun-dried tomatoes (packed in olive oil) chopped
1 tbsp. goat cheese, crumbled (I used quite a bit more of it)
2 tbsp. grated Parmesan, plus more for garnish
pinch salt, pinch black pepper

Bring a medium pot of salted water to a boil, add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain pasta, reserving 1/2 cup of the water.
In medium bowl, mix the salad greens with the sun-dried tomatoes, goat cheese and parmesan. Top with the warm pasta and 1/2 cup of the reserved pasta water. Toss to combine, season with salt and pepper, garnish with extra parmesan.  Yield:  1 serving.

 

 

One thought on “Orecchiette with Mixed Greens and Goat Cheese

Leave a Reply

